Summer Reading List

 download rules of civility

pride and prejudice html & css

{1, 2, 3, 4}

Dear Friend,

Yes. You guessed right. I was that obnoxious kid in grammar school who lived for summer reading lists. I loved the trip to the bookstore to buy the whole list. I also frequently bought and read the books that were on the optional list (I lived for extra credit). I then counted down the days until school would start again so that I could be tested on the reading.

Since I haven’t had an assigned list in a while and seeing as how my reading has taken a back seat to other activities (mainly Netflix), I figured setting a goal and listing some books would be a good start to get me back in reading shape. I’ve kept things realistic with just a handful of books – some new, some repeats, some that don’t necessarily need to be finished. Some reading is better than none, right? My summer reading list includes:

  1. Thrive, by Arianna Huffington – to help strengthen my balancing act.
  2. Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles – for any beach time I find.
  3. Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen – for the umpteenth time. This book is my favorite.
  4. HTML & CSS, by Jon Duckett – to learn something new that will inevitably help out this blog.

How do you motivate yourself to read? What books do you have lined up for the summer?

xx Katie

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. I have tried to read Pride and Prejudice so many times but can’t seem to make it through the whole book. I love the story and have seen the movies, and movies inspired by the story. I don’t know what the problem is. Mindy Kaling’s book “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” is currently on my list. I’ve heard such good things about it. And Rules of Civility sounds like my kind of story, I’ll have to check it out!

    http://www.proseccointheparkblog.com

    • The language in Pride and Prejudice is an acquired taste for sure. The movies are similarly amazing and are constantly on in the background at my house 🙂

      I LOVE Mindy and will have to check her book out! Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a lovely reply

