Friday and a French 75

phonto

Dear Friend,

Last night before the opera, I went to Absinthe for dinner and drinks with my friends (by friends I mean my 50-year-old co-worker, whom I adore, and her sister-in-law and niece). The dinner was amazing, the show was exactly what I wanted, the company was too much fun, but what really stole the night for me was my drink. I don’t know if that’s wrong to say especially because there was no sarcasm in the previous sentence, but it was SO good.

I’m mostly blown away because the drink contains gin. I thought I didn’t like gin even though I’m very sure I’ve never tried it. I’ve spent all of my legal-drinking-age life avoiding gin because people have compared the taste to those pine tree air fresheners. That sounds awful. Why would you want to drink that?

Anyways, I went for the gin cocktail last night because it also contains champagne, my favorite. I really didn’t have much of a choice to be perfectly honest because when I went to ask the waitress which she preferred out of the French 75 and… she cut me off (maybe she didn’t hear that I wanted to give her two options here), said “that’s a great drink, you’ll love it,” and walked away. Well, she was right. I did love it. Now when I’m not feeling like champagne, I’ll have a go-to drink that makes me think of Old Hollywood and tastes nothing like an air freshener.

What’s your signature drink? 

Happy weekend!

xx Katie

p.s. Did I use enough hyphenated words?

French 75 Recipe from Bon Appetit

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup gin
  • 1/2 cup No-Cook Simple Syrup (see below)
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
  • Champagne
  • Lemon twists (for garnish)

PREPARATION

  • To make Bon Appetit’s No-Cook Simple Syrup, combine 2 cups each superfine sugar and water in an airtight container. Cover and shake until sugar dissolves. Makes 3 cups.
  • Stir gin, No-Cook Simple Syrup, and fresh lemon juice with ice in a medium pitcher for 10 seconds. Strain into Champagne flutes or coupe glasses.
  • Top with chilled Champagne (Prosecco or other sparkling wine works in a pinch). Garnish with lemon twists.
2 thoughts on “Friday and a French 75

  1. French 75s are my favorite cocktail! And I’ve never heard of gin being compared to pine tree air fresheners before. I think it’s one of those flavors you either love or hate. I love gin, and champagne/prosecco 🙂

Leave a lovely reply

