Dear Auckland (bunch 1)

{roughly two weeks ago this is what life looked like after a 13 hour flight}

Dear Auckland,

Thank you for the incredible vacation and the even lovelier memories. This was my first adult vacation and despite how unfortunate I look in that photo, I wish it had never ended.

Before the trip could begin there was of course some pre-work that had to get done. We decided to rent an apartment and a car, which gave us the comfort of a home and the freedom of constant transportation. With a full kitchen on our side, we had the flexibility of eating in or out or packing lunches or snacking whenever. Anyone taking a significant trip to a single country that can be navigated by car, I highly recommend this approach. We used airbnb and I’m sure there are a thousand other home rental options, but it was ideal. Particularly on a morning when your thirteen hour flight arrives at 6:00am and all you want to do is go home and take a nap, which is exactly what we did.

As far as the itinerary for the trip goes, there was none.

Normally I plan, as I’m sure you can relate to, but for this trip I took it slow. I didn’t plan per se, but I did make an extensive activity list (with the help of some friends). I figured that we could pick activities each night for the next day, which would allow us to get a bunch of things done without feeling pressured to stick to a schedule (a very planned approach to no planning).

Everything worked out swimmingly. Not planning was a great plan and the weather was on our side with some rain and some sun. As far as photos go, I’m not going to be able to break everything down into Day 1, Day 2, etc. because I have zero memory and I just remember things in bunches. So bunch 1 of photos includes roughly three photos from our stop at the art gallery in Auckland, way too many photos of shopping, and of course, meatballs.

How do you plan for a big vacation?

xx Katie

Auckland Art Gallery

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

{my favorite parts were of course not pieces in the gallery but the light display and the silly sculpture “garden”}

__________

SAMSUNG CSC

{shopping – without the buying because things cost crazy money in NZ}

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

{beautifully lettered prints and stripes galore}

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

{confusing candles – are they cute? should I be freaked out? are they feminine? are they punk?}

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

{succulents are hip everywhere | and an obvious book by Pharrell}

__________

The following is the pinkest stationery store I have ever seen, and I would have insisted we never leave had it not reeked inside.

SAMSUNG CSC

All of the pink speaks for itself.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

__________

MEATBALLS

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC  SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

6 thoughts on “Dear Auckland (bunch 1)

  1. Awww, so happy see a glimpse of your amazing trip! Love all of the pink stationary! You must have been on heaven! When pat and I take a big trip we usually plan the big stuff like flights and leave the rest to chance!

  2. Pingback: Dear Auckland (bunch 2) | Lovely Letters

Leave a lovely reply

