Lucky Lady

Lucky Lady | lovely letters

Dear Friend,

What’s worse than a ten-hour flight when all you want is to be home? A ten-hour flight where the flu sets in around hour 7. This is unfortunately the situation I was in on Saturday morning.

Everything started off fine. Of course waking up at 4:00am on a Saturday isn’t anyone’s idea of a perfect start to the day, but I was miraculously headed to first class courtesy of a random upgrade! There would be so much sleeping room! NO PROBLEMS ANYWHERE!

I got to the airport without a hitch and settled into the first class lounge. This is where I became incredibly aware of what I have been missing my whole life by flying coach… the champagne bar. Yes, at 5:45 in the morning there was a champagne bar, which was of course enticing, but come on… 5:45am!? Obviously I passed and went for the fresh hash browns instead.

Soon enough I was on the plane, in the air, and dead asleep.

Cue hour 7, when horrible things began happening. Those who have had the flu please feel free to fill in the blanks here, and for those who have not had the flu, count your lucky stars and don’t even ask about the blanks. I proceeded to turn into my most dramatic, childish self and literally cried for my mom on the plane.

After getting to know the flight attendants all too well, one of them asked as she put me back in my seat for landing if I would be greeted by a loved one or by a taxi. She brought me around to the realization that I, in fact, would be met after baggage claim by a loved one! The saving grace of this whole ordeal was knowing that my leading man would be picking me up at the airport. SUCH COMFORT!

~

To get off my little soapbox here and to unabashedly start pouring my heart out, let me just say that I am one lucky lady. I am loved by a man with such compassion and grace that he managed to not only take care of me all weekend but he had also, in preparation for me coming home, had my car cleaned, finished the laundry, and cleaned the house. To say I am lucky is completely an understatement, but nonetheless my gratitude for this selfless man is unparalleled.

Even after all this time, 

The Sun never says to the Earth, 

“You owe me.”

Look what happens with

a love like that. 

It lights the whole sky.

I find that it’s easy to get lost in the day-to-day routine of living with someone let alone being in a relationship. It’s shocking how fast I adapt to someone working to take care of me and how quickly I lose sight of what an effort that is. My flu situation highlighted how much I take for granted, not only my health but also this incredible man who would (and does) drop everything to be with me/take care of me/pamper me/what-have-you.

Lucky Lady | lovely letters

In light of all this and in an attempt to grow, I am adding a resolution to my list. This year I am dedicated to expressing my gratitude consistently. I will be aware of the acts of kindness taking place around me, and I will thank the selfless people for the beautiful things they do.

Have you added anything to your list of resolutions since the year has started?

xx Katie

9 thoughts on “Lucky Lady

  1. what a lovely (and perfect) description of what love is all about – caring for the one you love, both ways, and appreciating. Good show to both of you. Glad you are over the icks. Reminds me of our trip to Seattle. Do you ever read these comments? Love, nama

  2. You certainly are one lucky girl. I hope you’re feeling better. I can’t imagine coming down with any kind of sickness mid-flight, especially on such a long one. I would 100% lose it and start crying. What a beautiful lesson/resolution to take away from it though. This post really made me think do a lot of thinking.

  3. Oh MAN. I’m so so sad about your crappy flu (IN FIRST CLASS! That’s it! Coach for life!), but love your sweet tribute. Hope you’re all patched up. xo

  4. Being sick on the plane is the worst. I remember being on a flight when my sinuses were messed up, and it felt like head was going to explode. Not fun – I now seek out sinus meds beforehand (even at the airport if I’ve forgotten to take it beforehand) because landing with the pressure change and being clogged is the WORST.

    And so sweet to have a loved one pick you up! 🙂

Leave a lovely reply

