Dear April

{image}

Dear April,

I missed March! I missed the whole thing!

I didn’t actually miss it, but part of my birthday gift to myself was downtime. As such, any and all downtime that came up was savored. It was a great choice and here’s why.

Sometimes (most times) I get caught up in just about everything. I hold on to details longer than I should. I procrastinate on making decisions that carry a lot of weight. I take in and overanalyze every opinion that’s offered. Basically, all of the things that hinder confident decision-making and cause emotional breakdowns, I do.

Enter wedding planning.

I am so beyond over-the-moon to be engaged. I can’t express to you how much fun it is to tell the proposal story ten times a day, to wear a sparkly ring that means forever, to be all in with the best guy I know, and to essentially start thinking about what a lifetime with him will look like. Wedding planning, however, is a different story.

I will be the first to admit that I am a perfectionist and a control freak. I enjoy doing things with a focus on the details. I like doing things myself when I can. And most of all I enjoy following rules. None of this makes planning a wedding yourself easier. As such, I’ve already gotten stressed and broken down and cried too many times. However, I have finally (after the gift of downtime) come to the realization that it doesn’t need to be a full-time job and that there are no rules.

The ceremony and the party that follows will be a tribute to the next phase of our love story. We will be surrounded by people who love us and want to support us. People will dance and sing and have a blast. All of this will happen regardless of the color of the carpet or the number of flowers on each table or the flavor of the cake. All of the good things will happen simply because we are getting married and couldn’t be more excited to do so.

My goal for April (and the next year) is to keep all of this in mind when I find myself getting wrapped up in things that are trivial. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

What’s on your plate this month?

xx Katie

4 thoughts on “Dear April

  1. That is so very true, your wedding will be the most wonderful day simply because it will be a wonderful day and not because of the carpet or flowers. I do however know how stressful getting wrapped up in the details of something so important to you can be. The process of moving is about to make my head spin. I was joking to JD the other day that I couldn’t imagine how crazed I might get if it were a wedding. If you need someone to vent to I’ve got your back.

Leave a lovely reply

